8 Comments
Mar 3, 2023Liked by Shelf Love

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, on Netflix. No surprise that it gives me romance novel feels, since it’s based on a YA romance, but this movie is a really charming spin on the fake-dating trope, and the chemistry between Lana Condor and Noah Centineo is off-the-charts. I get all the “does the cute boy like me?” butterflies I remember from the days when I actually WAS a young adult. I rewatch it way more than I should.

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Shelf Love

Late to the party but "Stardust" and the wonderful falling-in-love sequence... *chef's kiss*. I recently saw a youtube video and learned that the whole Captain Shakespeare episode wasn't in the original book, which is interesting because it's my favorite part.

And "Miss Fisher" of course. Every kiss is a jewel.

Expand full comment
Mar 4, 2023Liked by Shelf Love

I think K-dramas do this better than anything else for me? Currently watching Business Proposal and it's delivering on this so far.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2023Liked by Shelf Love

Starstruck on hbomax. It's got the heightened feel of a hot movie star falling in love with a normie, grounded in some real feelings. It leaves me feeling all glowy and happy. Can't wait for the third season!!!

Expand full comment